top of page
  • nicolaanaru

Toroa (Forthcoming)



Platform: Steam, various consoles

Genre: Adventure

Developer: Atawhai Interactive


Notes: I am very excited for this adventure game where you play as a Toroa (Northern Royal Albatross). The game's website states, "Featuring te reo Māori language and a story steeped in te ao Māori (the Māori world), meet the Atua (Māori Gods) of the ocean and winds, Takaroa and Tāwhirimātea. With a unique soundtrack showcasing the beauty of taonga pūoro (Māori musical instruments) and waiata (songs) sung in te reo Māori.". It's on my Steam wishlist for sure.


Images: Steam

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Timeline of Māori in Video Games

I began recording depictions of Māori culture in video games in 2018. I've been playing video games since the 80s, and I've consistently seen Māori exoticized and erased in mainstream video games. I'v

bottom of page