top of page
  • nicolaanaru

Anika's Odyssey: Land of the Taniwha (2007)



  • Year: 2007

  • Platform: Web

  • Genre: Point-and-Click

  • Publisher: Newgrounds

  • Developer: Tricky Sheep Games

  • Notes: Play as Anika Greenfield, a young girl who strives to save her toy rabbit from certain doom. This is the first game I reviewed which feels like it is intentionally set in Aotearoa - ponga trees, Haast’s Eagles, and all. However, the game also has an odd Alice-in-Wonderland vibe, which doesn’t quite gel with the bird calls and the use of a Taniwha. Was it necessary, or is this truly a cute homage?

  • Overall Rating: Free to play online - give it a go?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Timeline of Māori in Video Games

I began recording depictions of Māori culture in video games in 2018. I've been playing video games since the 80s, and I've consistently seen Māori exoticized and erased in mainstream video games. I'v

bottom of page