top of page
  • nicolaanaru

Cyberpunk 2077 (2020)



Platform: PlayStation 4, PlayStation5, Xbox One, Windows

Genre: Action RPG

Publisher: CD Projekt

Developer: CD Projekt Red


Notes: More unnecessary appropriation of tā moko. As Brittney Deguara reports in Stuff:


“As a gamer, it doesn’t ruin the entire game, but it ... casts a shadow on it for me as an indigenous person,” said Morgana Watson​, the creative director of MW Consultancy and 4Phase Games.
“I can’t in good conscience play a game when I know that they’ve just taken something sacred from our people just because it looks cool.
“I know it looks cool, but that’s not any reason at all to just steal it.”

Images: Reddit, Stuff

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Timeline of Māori in Video Games

I began recording depictions of Māori culture in video games in 2018. I've been playing video games since the 80s, and I've consistently seen Māori exoticized and erased in mainstream video games. I'v

bottom of page