top of page
  • nicolaanaru

Dungeons and Dragons Online (2006)



Year: 2006

Platform: Web

Genre: Steam, Windows, OSX

Publisher: Daybreak Game Company

Developer: Standing Stone Games


Notes: One of the race-classes in this game - Half-Orcs - does a dance which has clearly been taken from the haka. Here’s a video where a D&DO fan shares his learning about haka after encountering it in the game; and it’s actually impressive that he took the time to do this, even if his point of view is still on the “tourist” side of things.


Overall Rating: My knowledge of D&D is pretty limited, but I traditionally have a bad feeling whenever anyone mentions “orcs” andrace”.


Image credit: Gamer Geoff

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Timeline of Māori in Video Games

I began recording depictions of Māori culture in video games in 2018. I've been playing video games since the 80s, and I've consistently seen Māori exoticized and erased in mainstream video games. I'v

bottom of page