top of page
  • nicolaanaru

E Oho: The Awakening (2021)



Platform: Mobile

Genre: Platformer

Publisher: Google Store, Apple Play

Developer: Metia Interactive


Notes: FYI, I was paid to play through and review this game. I am a big fan of Metia Interactive. From my review:


"Developed by Maru Nihoniho’s (Ngāti Porou, Te Whānau a Apanui, Ngāi Tahu) studio Metia Interactive, E Oho: The Awakening is a follow-up of sorts to the studio’s previous work, Pūhaorangi. But whereas Pūhaorangi was a digital storybook written by Raimona Inia (Te Arawa), E Oho is a mobile adventure game. The game introduces Pūhaorangi as a god of the Te Arawa confederation, whose first-born son is a demi-god named Ohomairangi. Your quest as Pūhaorangi is to find Ohomairangi, by collecting whetū and advancing through 15 earthly and celestial realms.


In terms of gameplay, E Oho employs a simple side-scrolling approach. This is the first Māori side-scrolling platform game I have ever seen, and I was stoked to jump in and get button-mashing. There is no complicated battle system to learn here – just a directional pad and a jump button, which keeps the interface accessible for all kinds of gamers. As you collect whetū, a bar at the top of the screen tracks your progress, so if you miss one, you can backtrack pretty quickly."


Images: Metia Interactive/The Spinoff

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Timeline of Māori in Video Games

I began recording depictions of Māori culture in video games in 2018. I've been playing video games since the 80s, and I've consistently seen Māori exoticized and erased in mainstream video games. I'v

bottom of page