top of page
  • nicolaanaru

Fire Pro-Wrestling World: New Japan Pro-Wrestling 2018 Wrestler Pack (2018)



Platform: Steam

Genre: Fighting

Publisher: Spike Chunsoft Co

Developer: Human Entertainment


Notes: Fire Pro Wresting World is a wrestling game, and doesn’t seem too different from the WWE games that I played as a youth (probably far back enough that they were still WWF). What makes this a unique entry in the Māori Video Games Database is that this is the first instance of a real, living person being included in a fighting game. The New Japan Pro-Wrestling 2018 Wrestler Pack is a DLC package which allows you to play as Toa Henare, who identifies as Māori, Cook Island, and Native American on his Twitter account. I wonder how he feels about the application of Tā Moko on his character.


Images: Steam

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Timeline of Māori in Video Games

I began recording depictions of Māori culture in video games in 2018. I've been playing video games since the 80s, and I've consistently seen Māori exoticized and erased in mainstream video games. I'v

bottom of page