top of page
  • nicolaanaru

Overcooked! 2 (2018)



Platform: Web, Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Steam, Windows, XBox One

Publisher: Team17

Developer: Ghost Town Games


Notes: Overcooked! 2 is a simulation cooking game, with an expansion pack - Surf’n’Turf - which features a Māori woman as one of three new chefs. Aptly named “Island Chef” (the others are “Parrot Chef” and “Boof”); she sports moko kauae and a tāniko headband - but also appears to have Native American braids and a large tropical flower for good measure (I guess some of my Aunties would roll that way, so okay). Overall, the graphics are cute and relatively harmless.


Overall Rating: Is there hangi on this menu? I hope so.


Images: Nathan Birch, WCCFTech

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Timeline of Māori in Video Games

I began recording depictions of Māori culture in video games in 2018. I've been playing video games since the 80s, and I've consistently seen Māori exoticized and erased in mainstream video games. I'v

bottom of page