top of page
  • nicolaanaru

Umurangi Generation (2020)



Platform: Nintendo Switch, Xbox One, Windows

Genre: Simulation, Indie/Adventure

Publisher: Origame Digital, Playism

Developer: Origame Digital


Notes: I have not yet played this game (for shame), but I have heard a lot of glowing things about it, and it's on my Steam wishlist. From the game's website, "Umurangi Generation is a first person photography game in the shitty future. Set in Tauranga Aotearoa off the back of an impending crisis you are a courier for the Tauranga Express. Throughout the game you will unlock a variety of lenses and equipment.". Māori place names and motifs feature prominently in the design of the game.


I have seen nothing but joyful engagement and a cult following regarding this game. For more details, Dan Taipua has done a lovely job of reviewing the game from a Māori perspective for The Spinoff.


Images: The Spinoff

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Timeline of Māori in Video Games

I began recording depictions of Māori culture in video games in 2018. I've been playing video games since the 80s, and I've consistently seen Māori exoticized and erased in mainstream video games. I'v

bottom of page